A Closer Look At The Deadly Seven – Introduction

Do you remember when the movie Seven came out?  I think I was still in junior high, but I was drawn to this movie and watched it several times (yes even at that young age).  To think and to learn that there are seven vices that are usually the root to all sin (or evil doing) in this world, and we knew about them all along.

A new mini series that I will be starting on my blog is a deeper look at the Seven Deadly Sins, and I’m going to share them with you in a different way.  The movie Seven showed us the most common themes associated with these sins, but what if I told you there are other kinds of vices that goes with each sin?

The past few weeks I have been offline doing a ton of reading, and found this journey pretty humbling.  Like any good student, I’m looking forward to sharing with you some of the information I have learned.

In case you don’t remember, the seven deadly sins are the following:

  1. Pride
  2. Anger
  3. Envy
  4. Lust
  5. Avarice (also known as Greed)
  6. Gluttony
  7. Sloth

Before I begin this series next week, I want to share that while this series is taking a deeper look into these vices, we will also expand our minds and grow.  The point of sharing this different point of view about these Seven, is to offer a different perspective so that we can all become better people, and understand where our weakness are, and how we can try to overcome them.  This reminds me of the verse:


From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked” (Luke 12:48).


I hope that starting next week, you will be able to join me at a deeper look into these Seven, and we can ask ourselves, “what will we do with the knowledge that we have received?”


Leave a Reply

6 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
A Closer Look At The Deadly Seven - Gluttony - Blogging While NursingThe Deadly Seven - Sloth - Blogging While NursingA Closer Look At The Deadly Seven - Anger - Blogging While NursingThe Deadly Seven - Lust - Blogging While NursingSpiritual Reading: The Imitation of Christ - Blogging While Nursing Recent comment authors
newest oldest
Notify of

I am looking forward to you challenging us with what you’ve discovered!


[…] of the greats things that leads us into great sin.  Not too long ago, I wrote a series on the Deadly Seven sins and how they usually lead us into breaking the Ten Commandments.  All of these have to do with […]


[…] — okay,  bad joke.  You can check out the rest of the Deadly Seven, by clicking here for the […]


[…] Welcome back to my mini series.  Last week, I discussed Pride.  If you haven’t read it yet, you should jump over there and take a look at it.  If you want to take a look at all post for this series, you can start with the Introduction. […]


[…] Greetings, if you’re new to this series, welcome, you can check out all the post regarding this topic here. […]


[…] If you’re new here, and want to see what else was written in the series, please click here. […]